

Visiting the Past ...

Cow For All Seasons Award History

The Brown Swiss Association (BSA) Cow for All Seasons (CFAS) Award was established in 1996. For many years, at each National Show, Nasco International sponsored a type and production (Nasco) award to the exhibitor of the cow with the highest 305d, 2x milk record. To qualify, the cow must stand in the top 5 of her class of 20 or less, or in the top 20% if more than 20. Beginning in 1996, the BSA established the CFAS award which was presented to the exhibitor of the overall winner of Nasco awardees from all national shows. The award was sponsored by Purebred Publishing, Inc., current Bulletin Publisher at the time.

1996 – First Winner – Blessing Sensation Bria 795050

The first winner of the Cow for All Seasons Award was Blessing Sensation Bria 795050, owned by Milan F. Blessing and Family of Fort Wayne, Indiana. Bria produced 30,320 pounds of milk, 1124 pounds fat, and 1106 pounds of protein at 4-09 in 305 days. (Note: The lists of past winners in the January Bulletins in 2006 and 2009 did not include Bria). Blessings or Blessings and Mort won this award 3 of the first 5 years.

2006 – Award Based on Energy Corrected Milk

For the first 10 years, the award was based on the actual 305 day, 2x milk record. Beginning in 2006, the award was based on Energy Corrected Milk (ECM). The record now could also be a 2x or 3x record. The formula for ECM is as follows: .327 x pounds milk + 12.95 x pounds fat + 7.2 pounds protein. Thus, cows testing above 3.5% fat and/or 3.2% protein received additional points.

Jeremy or Gary and Jeremy McDonald of Stephens City, Virginia, had won twice in 2002 and 2005 under the previous system based on milk only. With the use of the ECM formula, Jeremy, now of Middletown, Virginia, won the first two years in 2006 and 2007 with Shen-Val Jetway Cinderella. Thus, Jeremy became the first to become a 4-time winner and Cinderella was the first cow to win in consecutive years. Jeremy won again in 2011 with HF Pronto Katriel to be a 5-time winner.

2016 - Formula Changed to True Protein

The recording of milk protein officially changed from total protein to true protein. This changed the multiplier in the ECM formula from 7.2 to 7.65 for protein pounds.

One year prior to this change saw Jonlee Secret Langwathby, owned by Dalton Freeman of Bremen, Indiana, set a new ECM record. Langwathby won again in 2016 and 2017 to become

the first cow to win in 3 consecutive years. She is now owned by Dalton, Dillon & Breanne Freeman.

Special thanks to Purebred Publishing for sponsoring the CFAS award from 1996-2017. Since 2018, the Association has sponsored theis award. Beginning this past year, the previous Nasco ECM award at each National Show is now titled "Type and Production Award" and also sponsored by the Association. The top ECM record over all national shows becomes the CFAS winner.

2022-Cutting Edge Stratus Sue Has Record ECM

Stratus Sue easily wins the 2022 CFAS award with a recordsetting total of 71,028 pounds of ECM. Sue is owned by Ronald R. Kelm of Markesan, Wisconsin.

Cow For All Seasons History List

Listed below are the winning cows from 1996-2022 along with their winning record of Milk or ECM. A complete list of all Cow For All Seasons winners along with their complete production record and owners are available on the Association's website under: Breed, History, Cow For All Seasons. The website also contains the current rules. Several winning cows are pictured.

Cow For All Seasons Award Winners

Year	Cow	Milk	ECM
1996	Blessing Sensation Bria	30,320	
1997	Hoosier Knoll Jade Monay	30,860	
1998	Mae We Jo Ca Ellie T Laura ET	28,920	
1999	Alexander Sensational Pam	31,390	
2000	North Lanes Mario Celine	30,230	
2001	Shen-Val Rhythm Carrie	35,100	
2002	Shen-Val Ensign Crissy	33,490	
2003	Mort Ensign Tamara	35,390	
2004	La Rainbow Fancy Girl ET	36,363	
2005	GS Ensign Tootie	35,370	
2006	Shen-Val Jetway Cinderella		43,442
2007	Shen-Val Jetway Cinderella		43,442
2008	Niermans Ringleader Paris		41,079
2009	Forest Lawn Anthem Busy		35,382
2010	Lost Elm Pixie		35,583
2011	HF Pronto Katriel		38,836
2012	Niermans Ringleader Paris		38,210
2013	Random Luck Premium Talent ET		36,163
2014	IE Champion View Vigor 3849		33,845
2015	Jonlee Secret Langwathby		50,681
2016	Jonlee Secret Langwathby		65,826
2017	Jonlee Secret Langwathby		65,826
2018	VB HP Advantage Sugar		45,072
2019	La Rainbow Bfly Sunkist ETV		41,303
2020	Nor-Bert Thunder Silverflake		53,174
2021	Pine Tree Rich Alli 7462 ET		38,589
2022	Cutting Edge Stratus Sue		71,028

To become a member, make checks payable to the Brown Swiss Historical Society and mail to: Roger R. Neitzel, 758 Morning Glory, Beloit, WI 53511. One Year: Individual: \$10; Family, Farm or Business: \$20; Lifetime Member: \$100. Include Name, Address, Phone and Email.